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December 19, 2019 
 
 
 
 
The Honorable John A. Alario, Jr., 
  President of the Senate 
The Honorable Taylor F. Barras 
  Speaker of the House of Representatives 
 
Dear Senator Alario and Representative Barras: 
 

This report provides the results of our review of all policies related to family and parental 
leave for state employees, as requested by House Concurrent Resolution 93 of the 2019 Regular 
Legislative Session. The purpose of this audit was to evaluate the policies and practices among 
state agencies as compared to competitive best practices. 

 
Overall, we found inconsistencies within and across state agencies regarding 

FMLA/parental leave policies and the implementation of FMLA/parental leave. 
 
Specifically, we found that while executive and judicial agencies are subject to the 

provisions of the 1993 Family and Medical Leave Act (FMLA), legislative offices are not. As a 
result, the parental leave policies of most legislative offices do not mirror FMLA protections.  

  
In addition, parental leave policies vary in how detailed they are and do not always 

include all provisions of FMLA, such as the requirement to restore an employee to an equivalent 
position when he or she returns from leave. Most policies also do not include the protections 
provided by Louisiana’s pregnancy anti-discrimination statutes.  

 
We also identified inconsistencies in the usage of parental leave within and across 

executive agencies. No entity within Louisiana is responsible for ensuring consistent leave 
usage; instead it is left up to the individual agencies. For example, some agencies require 
employees to use FMLA for prenatal visits while others do not. 

 
Finally, other states and some entities in Louisiana provide additional protections and 

benefits for parents, such as paid maternity and paternity leave, and access to flexible sick leave. 
Adopting these protections and benefits for all state employees could improve Louisiana’s efforts 
to recruit and retain state employees.  
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The report contains our findings, conclusions, and recommendations. I hope this report 
will benefit you in your legislative decision-making process. 

 
We would like to express our appreciation to the staff of the Louisiana Department of 

State Civil Service and the human resources staff at the executive agencies, judicial offices, and 
legislative offices for their assistance during this audit. 

 
Respectfully submitted, 
 
 
 
Daryl G. Purpera, CPA, CFE 
Legislative Auditor 
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Family Medical Leave Act (FMLA) 
Eligibility Requirements 

 
An employee who has been employed for 
at least 12 months and has worked at least 
1,250 hours during the previous 12-month 
period at a worksite with more than 50 
employees.  

 

Introduction 
 

House Concurrent Resolution (HCR) 93 of the 2019 Regular Legislative Session 
requested that the Legislative Auditor compile all policies relative to family and parental leave 
for state employees, compare the policies, and report on the status of family and parental leave 
policies applicable to state employees. According to HCR 93, such a review is important because 
offering competitive family and parental leave to employees can be an effective recruiting tool, 
enhance the work environment, and increase employee retention; and it is important to 
understand how Louisiana’s policies compare with competitive best practices. 
 

Parental leave policies for most state entities are 
covered under the agency’s Family and Medical Leave Act 
(FMLA) policy. The Family and Medical Leave Act of 19931 
provides job-protected leave for eligible employees who take 
time off to care for themselves or family while they are sick 
or temporarily disabled, or for leave related to the birth or 
adoption of a child or the placement of a foster child. FMLA 
entitles eligible employees to take up to 12 weeks of job-
protected, unpaid leave; although, employees may elect to or employers may require that 
employees use any accrued paid vacation, personal, or family leave while on FMLA.  
 

Ensuring compliance with FMLA requirements is the responsibility of the human 
resources (HR) administrators within each state entity. While Louisiana’s State Civil Service 
Commission (Commission) has established rules related to leave accrual and use for state 
workers, the Commission does not oversee the implementation of FMLA or the utilization of 
FMLA leave because FMLA is a federal law. Employee complaints regarding FMLA can be 
directed to their human resources administrators or the Federal Department of Labor. 

 
In addition to the federal FMLA requirements, states may pass laws that provide 

additional protections and benefits related to parental leave. Louisiana established pregnancy 
anti-discrimination laws2 in 1997 that provide job-protected leave for pregnant women. The 
provisions of these laws apply to an employer who employs more than 25 employees and states 
that it is unlawful for the employer to refuse to allow a female employee to take leave on account 
of pregnancy for a reasonable period of time, not to exceed six weeks for normal 
pregnancies/births and16 weeks when there are complications due to pregnancy/birth.  

                                                 
1 29 U.S.C.A. § 2601-2654 
2 Louisiana Revised Statute (L.R.S.) 23:341 and 23:342 
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In 2016, the National Partnership for Women & Families published a report3 analyzing 
laws that protect expecting and new parents across all 50 states and scored each state. Louisiana 
received a grade of “C” and was ranked 15th.  The 14 states that ranked higher than Louisiana 
offer more generous benefits than Louisiana, such as paid maternity and paternity leave and 
additional protections and benefits for parents after they return to work.  
 

To conduct this audit, we requested FMLA/parental leave policies from all state agencies, 
university systems, and judicial and legislative offices, conducted a survey of employees in five 
state agencies/university systems,4 reviewed LaGov-HCM leave reports, and reviewed best 
practices research. We were unable to calculate how many state employees took parental leave 
because the leave tracking system that most state entities use (LaGov-HCM) only codes that an 
employee used FMLA leave but does not differentiate for what reason. Therefore, agencies 
would have to manually review employee records to determine who took FMLA for parental 
leave which for large agencies is time prohibitive.  

 
The objective of this review was: 

 
Evaluate the policies and practices related to parental leave for state employees. 

 
Our results are summarized on the following pages, along with our recommendations to 

assist Louisiana in strengthening its policies, procedures, and laws related to parental leave. 
Appendix A summarizes our scope and methodology, and Appendix B lists FMLA provisions 
related to parental leave.   

                                                 
3 Expecting Better: A State-by-State Analysis of Laws that Help Expecting and New Parents. 2016 
http://www.nationalpartnership.org/our-work/resources/economic-justice/expecting-better-2016.pdf 
4 We sent a survey to a total of 1,543 state workers who used FMLA at some point during fiscal years 2018 and 
2019. A total of 168 respondents reported they took FMLA for the birth, adoption, or fostering of a child during this 
time period. 
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Objective: Evaluate the policies and practices related to 
parental leave for state employees. 

 
Overall, we found inconsistencies within and across state agencies regarding FMLA/ 

parental leave policies and the implementation of FMLA/parental leave. Specifically, we found: 
 

 While executive and judicial agencies are subject to FMLA, legislative offices 
are not. As a result, we found that the parental leave policies of most 
legislative offices do not mirror FMLA protections. For example, the House of 
Representatives’ policy does not specify a minimum or maximum number of 
weeks of leave allowed. Although legislative offices are not subject to FMLA 
provisions, developing parental leave policies that mirror FMLA provisions 
would offer employees of legislative offices more economic security and stability 
for their families.    

 Parental leave policies for state employees vary in the level of detail and do 
not always include all provisions of FMLA, such as the requirement to 
restore an employee to an equivalent position when they return from leave. 
In addition, most policies do not include the protections provided by 
Louisiana’s pregnancy anti-discrimination statutes. Under state law, female 
employees who become disabled as a result of pregnancy or childbirth are entitled 
to up to 16 weeks of leave.  

 We identified inconsistencies in leave usage for parental leave within and 
across executive agencies. There is no entity within the state that is 
responsible for ensuring consistent leave usage; instead, it is left up to the 
individual agencies. For example, some agencies require employees to use 
FMLA for prenatal visits, while others do not. We also identified inconsistencies 
in FMLA usage for prenatal doctor visits within agencies. It is important that each 
agency consistently implement leave usage policies and civil service rules.   

 Other states and some entities in Louisiana provide additional protections 
and benefits for parents. Adopting these protections and benefits for all state 
employees may improve Louisiana’s competitive advantage in recruiting and 
retaining state employees. These protections and benefits include paid maternity 
and paternity leave, and access to flexible sick leave which parents can use to care 
for sick children, including babies born prematurely with resulting health 
complications. 

Our results, along with four recommendations to assist Louisiana in strengthening its 
policies related to parental leave for state employees, are discussed in detail on the following 
pages. 
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While executive and judicial agencies are subject to FMLA, 
legislative offices are not.  As a result, we found that the 
parental leave policies of most legislative offices do not 
mirror FMLA protections.  
 

FMLA covers classified and unclassified employees of executive and judicial agencies of 
the state, including university system employees if they meet the eligibility requirements. 
However, employees of the legislative branch are not covered by FMLA because the definition 
of employee used by FMLA excludes individuals employed in the legislative branch or 
legislative body of the state.5 Therefore, the Senate, the House of Representatives, legislative 
services agencies (Legislative Fiscal Office, Legislative Auditor), and the State Law Institute are 
not subject to FMLA provisions. To help ensure that employees of legislative branch offices 
have protections similar to those provided by FMLA, these offices may want to develop parental 
leave policies that mirror FMLA. These policies would offer employees of legislative offices 
more economic security and stability for their families.   

 
We reviewed the policies for legislative offices and found that they do not provide all the 

similar protections afforded under FMLA, including job-protection status, and are generally 
vague. Exhibit 1 describes each legislative office’s parental leave policy.   

 
Exhibit 1 

Parental Leave Policies for Legislative Offices 
Description of Policy Issues 

Legislative Office Overview of Parental Leave Policy 

House of 
Representatives 

Policy for full-time employees (except for legislative assistants) does not specify a 
minimum or maximum number of weeks of leave allowed. Employees may use annual, 
compensatory, and sick leave for “maternity/paternity leave.” If all accrued leave is used, 
employee may be granted leave without pay.  

Senate 

Policy states that full-time salaried employees are allowed six weeks of leave for 
“maternity” reasons unless a doctor certifies that the employee needs more time for 
medical reasons. Employees may use annual, compensatory, and sick leave for maternity 
reasons. If all accrued leave is used, employees may be granted leave without pay.  

Legislative Fiscal 
Office 

Policy states that an employee shall be granted six weeks of sick leave for maternity 
reasons, unless a doctor certifies in writing that an extended amount of time is needed due 
to medical causes. 

Legislative Auditor 

Refers to parental leave as “time an employee may take due the birth and care of a 
newborn biological child or legal adoption of a child.” Employees may take up to 12 
weeks of parental leave in a calendar year. This leave may be taken intermittently over a 
course of six months from the birth or legal adoption of the child. Leave may be taken in 
the following order: available sick, compensatory, annual, leave without pay.  

State Law Institute 
Has no parental leave policy but generally refers to the leave policies of State Civil 
Service for guidance. 

Source: Created by Legislative Audit staff using parental leave policies provided by Legislative offices. 
 

While employees of legislative offices are not covered under FMLA, they are protected 
under the state’s pregnancy anti-discrimination statutes. However, none of the policies 

                                                 
5The FMLA definition of employee, found in 29 U.S.C.A. § 203, reference the Fair Standards Labor Act (FSLA) 
definition which specifically excludes employees of legislatures.  
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“The policy as written (is) not what was 
explained to me when I was trying to 
figure out how and when leave was to be 
taken and what my rights were.” 
 

LLA Survey of State Workers  
(August 2019) 

mentioned above communicate protections that allow women to take up to 16 weeks of job-
protected leave when they experience complications due to pregnancy or birth. 

 
Matter for Legislative Consideration:  The legislature may wish to consider 
requiring legislative offices to develop parental leave policies that mirror FMLA, as well 
as communicate protections offered by state statutes.   
 

 

Parental leave policies for state employees vary in the level 
of detail and do not always include all provisions of FMLA, 
such as the requirement to restore an employee to an 
equivalent position when they return from FMLA leave. In 
addition, most policies do not include the protections 
provided by Louisiana’s pregnancy anti-discrimination 
statutes.  
 

Louisiana does not have a uniform, statewide 
parental leave policy for all state workers. As a result, 
each agency has developed its own FMLA/parental 
leave policies. However, these policies are inconsistent 
in the level of detail they provide and do not consistently 
include essential FMLA provisions related to parental 
leave.6  For example: 

 
 The length and amount of guidance contained in policy documents vary by 

agency. In two examples, the policies are only one paragraph long, with one of 
the policies only referring to a 1993 State Civil Service memorandum on FMLA 
while the other policy only lists FMLA tenure requirements and the 12 weeks of 
leave allowed under the law. Other agencies’ policies are more than 10 pages long 
and include everything from eligibility requirements to detailed procedures for 
applying for FMLA and coding FMLA leave.    

 Policies do not always clearly explain how leave is to be used while on FMLA. 
Some policies provide clear guidance on the type and order in which accrued 
leave is to be used, while others simply state that while absent for an FMLA event 
an employee is required to use any available balance of applicable leave.    

 FMLA requires that employers restore employees to the position of employment 
held by the employee when the FMLA leave commenced, or restore the employee 
to an equivalent position with equivalent benefits, pay, and other terms and 
conditions of employment. However, not all FMLA/parental leave policies 
include this essential provision. Our review found that 7 (13.7%) of the 51 
policies for state entities subject to FMLA didn’t include this provision.   

                                                 
6 Appendix B lists FMLA provisions related to parental leave.   
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“I feel like there was inadequate 
knowledge of how the FMLA process 
worked.” 
 

LLA Survey of State Workers 
(August 2019) 

Other states7 have statewide parental leave policies or guidance documents that 
include essential FMLA provisions. According to our survey of state workers who used FMLA 
for parental leave, 27 (18.4%) out of 147 respondents feel that their agency’s policy is not clear. 
However, best practices8 state that every employer covered 
by FMLA should have a written policy that is clear, 
concise and up-to-date. These best practices also state that 
policies should be written in clear language and provide 
good guidelines and expectations to help ensure 
compliance with FMLA and to help ensure fair and 
consistent treatment of employees. Clear, well-written policies provide employees with correct 
information regarding their FMLA rights and may lessen the chances for misunderstandings that 
lead to grievances and lawsuits, thus making HR processes more efficient. 

 
Only nine (16.1%) of 56 policies from state agencies, university systems, legislative 

and judicial branch offices cite the state’s pregnancy anti-discrimination law.9  This law 
allows women to take up to 16 weeks of leave when they experience medical complications due 
to pregnancy or birth. This is more generous than FMLA, which only allows 12 weeks. State 
workers who are not eligible for FMLA because they have not worked for a full year are eligible 
for protections under Louisiana’s pregnancy anti-discrimination law. In our survey of state 
employees, when asked what improvements they would make to their agency’s FMLA/parental 
leave policy, one employee stated that she only “stumbled upon” this statute by “luck/research” 
because it was not included in the agency’s policies.  
 

Matter for Legislative Consideration:  The Legislature may wish to consider 
requiring the Department of State Civil Service to develop state wide FMLA and 
maternity leave guidance documents for all state employees and agencies to use as a 
reference. FMLA leave guidance documents should include all essential FMLA 
provisions and maternity leave guidance documents should include all protections offered 
by state statutes. 
 

  

                                                 
7 Alaska, Colorado, Connecticut, Georgia, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Oregon, South Dakota, Tennessee, Wisconsin 
8 Society for Human Resources Management (SHRM)  
9 L.R.S. 23:341-23:342 
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“When in (one section), employees were required 
to start FMLA at the first notification of pregnancy 
(for doctor’s appointments) which cut into your 
time off to bond with your baby.  In my new 
section, it was done properly.  I used sick leave for 
doctor’s appointments and went on FMLA to 
bond.” 
 

LLA Survey of State Workers (August 2019) 

We identified inconsistencies in leave usage for parental 
leave within and across executive agencies. There is no 
entity within the state that is responsible for ensuring 
consistent leave usage; instead, this is left up to the 
individual agencies. 
 

According to State Civil Service rules, employees can only use sick leave when the 
employee is sick.10 As a result, while on maternity leave, a mother should use sick leave until she 
is released by her doctor, which normally happens six to eight weeks after the birth but may be 
extended due to medical issues of the mother that are related to the birth. After being medically 
released, this rule requires that mothers switch from sick leave to annual leave, compensatory 
leave, or leave without pay while “bonding with the child.” However, we identified 
inconsistencies in leave usage for FMLA/parental leave within state agencies.  

 
We identified instances in which agencies allowed employees to use sick leave after 

they were released from their doctor, or the agency could not provide us with 
documentation for why women were allowed to use sick leave beyond the customary time 
frame. For example, in one agency we identified six (26.1%) of the 23 employees who took 
FMLA/parental leave in fiscal years 2018 or 2019 used more than eight weeks of sick leave. The 
agency acknowledged it did not consistently require women to submit medical documentation 
identifying the dates they were released from their doctor. In another agency, 11 (45.8%) of 24 
women who used more than eight weeks of sick leave were allowed by the agency to use sick 
leave beyond the date their doctor medically released them, or the agency was not able to 
provide medical release forms to support their extended use of sick leave. In our survey of state 
employees, respondents from multiple agencies commented that their agency's policies 
concerning leave usage was not clear, and they were not given clear guidance on the type of 
leave to use while on FMLA. State agencies should provide clear guidance on leave usage during 
FMLA, such as the use of sick leave only until new mothers are medically released, and ensure 
consistent enforcement of such policies.   
 

We also identified inconsistencies in FMLA usage related to prenatal doctor visits, 
because some women were required to use FMLA for prenatal visits while others were not. 
This is important because FMLA provides job-protected leave for a maximum of 12 weeks and 
any FMLA time that is used prior to delivery takes away from the time a woman can be home 
with their child after the birth. Agencies’ FMLA/parental leave policies regarding whether 
routine prenatal care must be coded to FMLA leave are vague which can lead to different 
interpretations and implementation of the policy 
within agencies. Thirty-four (66.7%) of the 51 
policies for state entities subject to FMLA 
specifically list prenatal care as a qualifying 
event for granting FMLA leave, but only one of 
these policies specifically states that it must be 
coded to FMLA. One policy specifically states 
that employees are not required to use FMLA for 
                                                 
10 SCS Rule 11.13 (Use of Sick Leave) 
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“I think it would be very beneficial (to 
new mothers especially) to change the 
rules to allow parents to use sick leave for 
care of dependents. Our state is one of the 
only ones this is not allowed for and it 
ABSOLUTELY places hardship on 
parents.” 
 

LLA Survey of State Workers 
(August 2019) 

routine prenatal visits.  We asked HR staff in three agencies, whose policies listed prenatal care 
as a qualifying event for FMLA leave, whether women were required to use FMLA for prenatal 
care and received three different answers. One agency indicated that women should use FMLA 
leave for prenatal care,11 another said that FMLA is offered to employees experiencing 
complications, and the third stated that employees could use regular sick leave until they filed 
their FMLA leave request.  

 
Leave usage reports for employees in one of these three agencies indicated that 11 

(11.5%) out of 96 women who took maternity leave during fiscal years 2018 through 2019 used 
FMLA leave for routine prenatal care while the other women did not. This supports comments 
from survey respondents. Some commented that FMLA usage related to prenatal doctor visits 
within their agency varies by department because of supervisors’ differing interpretations of 
agency policies. While agencies are allowed discretion in requiring the use of FMLA for prenatal 
visits, it is important that this policy is clearly stated and that all employees are treated 
consistently.   
 

Matter for Legislative Consideration:  The Legislature may wish to consider 
requiring agencies to clearly state in their policies whether routine prenatal visits are to be 
coded as FMLA leave or not, as well as requiring agencies to implement their policies 
consistently for all employees. 

 
 

Other states and some entities within Louisiana provide 
additional protections and benefits for parents. Adopting 
these protections and benefits for all state employees may 
improve Louisiana’s competitive advantage in recruiting 
and retaining state employees. 
 

In 2016, the National Partnership for Women and Families published a report analyzing 
laws that protect expecting and new parents across all 50 states. Louisiana received a grade of 
“C” and was ranked 15th. The 14 states that ranked 
higher and received a better grade than Louisiana did 
so because they offer more generous legal protections 
than Louisiana. These states provide additional 
protections or benefits for parents including paid 
maternity and paternity leave, and access to flexible 
sick leave which parents can use to care for sick 
children. Implementing more generous or flexible 
leave benefits may improve Louisiana’s competitive 
advantage in recruiting and retaining state employees. 
  

                                                 
11 This is not the agency whose policy states that employees must use FMLA leave for routine prenatal visits.  
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As of 2016, 46 states and the federal government allow their public sector employees 
to use their sick leave to care for family members.12 Flexible sick leave is a policy that allows 
workers to use their accrued paid sick leave to care for family members, including children, 
parents, or a spouse. For example, parents can utilize this when babies are born prematurely and 
have resulting health complications. In addition, flexible leave policies are beneficial to fathers 
who want to take leave to take care of their disabled spouse. Currently, Louisiana state 
employees who fall under State Civil Service rules may only use their accrued sick leave when 
they are sick. They are required to use compensatory and annual leave to care for family 
members then go on leave without pay when these are exhausted.  

 
There are many variations of implementation of flexible sick leave found across the 46 

states, particularly in the amount of sick time employees are allowed to take to care for family 
members. For example, Connecticut allows employees to take three days per year to care for 
family members, while other states, such as Georgia and Ohio, have no maximum. The majority 
of states with flexible sick leave policies specifically allow workers to use their sick leave to care 
for a spouse disabled by pregnancy. In Louisiana, State Supreme Court and Circuit Court of 
Appeals policies allow their employees to use up to 20 days per year of sick leave to care for an 
employee’s immediate family. Some of Louisiana’s legislative branch offices also offer flexible 
sick leave.  
 

At least 15 states have enacted some form of paid leave for new parents that can be 
used for bonding with or care of a new child including for birth, adoption, and fostering. 
However, the details of these programs vary by state; including who is covered, the amount of 
pay covered, length of time of the benefit, and how the benefit is paid for. For example, in eight 
states,13 the leave is paid via insurance that is funded through payroll deductions. In some states 
only the employee contributes, and in other states both the employee and employer contribute. 
The amount of the benefit varies by state, but in general employees are paid a percentage of their 
average weekly wage. For example, in New Jersey, the weekly benefit is 66% of a worker’s 
average weekly wage. Paid leave ranges from four to 14 weeks. Eligibility requirements, 
exemptions, and restrictions, such as maximum payments, vary by state and not all public sector 
workers are covered in each state. 

 
Four states have enacted laws or implemented regulations to provide paid leave to state 

workers through mechanisms other than insurance. For example,  
 

 Ohio provides state workers with four weeks of paid leave at 70% of the 
employee’s base pay.  

 Illinois provides state employees with four weeks of paid maternity leave and 
three weeks of paid paternity leave.  

 Maryland provides that state employees may use up to 60 days of parental leave 
to care for a child after birth or adoption. If the employee does not have enough 
accrued annual or personal time, the State Agency shall provide additional leave 
to attain 60 days of parental leave.  

                                                 
12 According to the National Partnership for Women and Families 
13 California, New Jersey, Rhode Island, New York, Washington, Massachusetts, Connecticut, and Oregon 
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 Arkansas allows four weeks of paid leave for “maternity purposes” for state 
employees via a voluntary Catastrophic Leave Bank.  

In addition, three state governors have signed Executive Orders that provide public sector 
employees with access to paid parental leave. Indiana provides 150 hours of paid leave to be 
used after the required use of sick leave. Kansas provides state employees under the jurisdiction 
of the governor with paid parental leave at 100% of their regular salary for six weeks for the 
primary caregiver and three weeks for the secondary caregiver. In Virginia, an eligible employee 
receives eight weeks of parental leave at 100% of the employee’s regular salary and requires that 
the parental leave shall not be counted against an employee’s annual or sick leave.  

 
Research14 demonstrates that providing paid parental leave is good for employers because 

it is tied to employee retention and increased productivity. In addition, when employees have 
access to paid leave, morale improves and employees show more loyalty toward the employer. 
 

Matter for Legislative Consideration:  The Legislature may wish to consider 
whether implementing flexible sick leave policies and paid leave for new parents would 
improve recruitment and retention of state employees.  

 
 
 

                                                 
14 Expecting Better: A State-by-State Analysis of Laws that Help Expecting and New Parents. 2016 
http://www.nationalpartnership.org/our-work/resources/economic-justice/expecting-better-2016.pdf and Paid 
Parental Leave in the United State: What the data tell us about access, usage, and economic and health benefits. 
2014 https://iwpr.org/publications/paid-parental-leave-in-the-united-states-what-the-data-tell-us-about-access-usage-
and-economic-and-health-benefits/  



 

A.1 

APPENDIX A:  SCOPE AND METHODOLOGY 
 

 
This report provides the results of our evaluation of parental leave policies for Louisiana 

state employees. We conducted this performance audit under the provisions of House Concurrent 
Resolution (HCR) 93 of the 2019 Regular Legislative Session and Title 24 of the Louisiana 
Revised Statutes of 1950, as amended. Our audit scope was fiscal years 2018 and 2019 which 
allowed us to analyze the most recent implementation of FMLA leave for executive branch 
agencies, university systems, and the legislative and judicial branches. We also evaluated the 
current parental leave policies of these state entities. Our audit objective was:  
 

Evaluate the policies and practices related to parental leave for state employees. 
  

This audit was not conducted in accordance with generally accepted government auditing 
standards issued by the Comptroller General of the United States; however, we used those 
standards as a guide and believe the evidence obtained provides a reasonable basis for our 
findings and conclusions. To answer our objective, we performed the following audit steps: 
 

 Researched the Federal Family Medical Leave Act (FMLA), the Federal Fair 
Labor Standards Act, and Louisiana State Laws related to parental leave. 

 Met with State Civil Service staff and contacted human resources staff at 
executive agencies, judicial offices, and legislative offices to understand leave 
usage requirements and FMLA/parental leave procedures. 

 Obtained FMLA/Parental Leave policies from state agencies, university systems, 
and the judicial and legislative branches. 

 Used FMLA criteria to compare specific elements of each FMLA policy, 
documented differences, and followed up as needed with state agencies to 
understand differences. 

 Researched best practices and other states practices related to FMLA/Parental 
Leave.  This included researching relevant laws, and executive orders.  

 Obtained leave reports for a selection of state agencies and university offices.  

 Used leave reports to identify state employees that took FMLA leave during fiscal 
years 2018 and 2019. These reports do not specify the reason that an employee 
took FMLA. As a result, we could not use them to identify state workers who 
used FMLA for parental leave.  

 To identify state workers who used FMLA for parental leave, we developed and 
sent a survey in August 2019 to 1,543 state workers from a selection of state 
agencies and university programs that used FMLA at some point during fiscal 
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years 2018 and 2019. A total of 168 respondents reported they took FMLA for the 
birth, adoption, or fostering of a child during this time period, and 147 of the 168 
respondents answered all the survey questions. 

 Analyzed leave reports to identify inconsistencies in leave usage for state 
employees who responded to our survey that they used FMLA for parental leave 
during fiscal years 2018 and 2019. We then followed up with a targeted selection 
of three state agencies to understand any inconsistencies.   

 Shared a draft of the audit report with management of the Department of State 
Civil Service and obtained their comments. 
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APPENDIX B:  FMLA PROVISIONS RELATED TO  
PARENTAL LEAVE 

 
 

 
Family Medical Leave Act (FMLA) Provisions 

 
Provision Description 

Restoration to Position  
Upon return from leave an employee is entitled to be restored to an equivalent position 
with equivalent employment benefits, pay, and other terms and conditions of employment. 

Eligible Employee 
An employee who has been employed for at least 12 months by the employer, and 
provided at least 1,250 hours of service with such employer during the previous 12 month 
period.  

Employer 
Any person/entity engaged in commerce or affecting commerce who/that employs 50 or 
more employees in each working day; this includes any “public agency” as defined by 
FLSA (sect 203 of Title 29 labor). 

Leave Requirements 
(Entitlement to Leave) 

Eligible employees shall be eligible for leave during any 12-month period for one of the 
following reasons: birth of employee’s child or placement of a child with employee for 
adoption or foster care, to care for a spouse, child, or parent who has a serious health 
condition, or due to the employee’s own serious health condition that makes them unable 
to perform the functions of their position.  

Substitution of Paid 
Leave 

An eligible employee may elect, or an employer may require the employee, to substitute 
any accrued leave for any part of the 12 week leave entitlement period.  

Requirement of Notice 
for Foreseeable Leave  

In any case in which the necessity of leave is foreseeable based on an expected birth or 
placement of a child, the employee shall provide the employer with not less than 30 days’ 
notice before the date the leave is to begin. If the date of the birth or placement requires 
leave to begin in less than 30 days, the employee shall provide such notice as practicable.  

Spouses Employed by 
the Same Employer 

The aggregate number of workweeks of leave spouses employed by the same employer 
may be entitled to may be limited to 12 workweeks during any 12-month period.  

Medical Certification  
An employer may require that a request for leave be supported by a certification issued by 
a health care provider of the eligible employee. The employee shall provide, in a timely 
manner, a copy of such certification.   

Maintenance of Health 
Benefits  

The employer shall maintain coverage under any group health plan for the duration of 
such leave at the level and under the conditions coverage would have been provided if the 
employee did not take leave. 

Serious Health 
Condition   

Any illness, injury, impairment, or physical or mental condition that involves inpatient 
care in a hospital, hospice or residential medical care facility, or continuing treatment by a 
health care provider.  

Intermittent Leave  
Working intermittently or on a reduced leave schedule may be permitted if the employer 
and employee agree.  

Entitlement Expiration  
Entitlement to FMLA leave shall expire at the end of the 12-month period beginning on 
the date of the birth of a child or placement of a child with employee for adoption or foster 
care. 

Source: Created by Legislative Audit staff using the Family Medical Leave Act (29 USCA § 2601-2654) 
 
 
 
 


